Yards General Washington’s Tavern Porter

Posted: July 10, 2012 in English Porter, Reviews, Yards Brewing Company

This was another brew from Sunday. I got this in the mixed “Ales of the Revolution” twelve pack while I was down the shore. I already reviewed one of them a few days ago and I have one more after this to do. This one is George Washington’s take on a porter. I tend to prefer porters and stouts when it is a little cooler (read: not 100 degrees), but I figure I’ll just blast the AC and get through this.

ABV: 7%

Style: English Porter

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Brewed to rally his thirsty field soldiers, General Washington’s Tavern Porter™ is smooth, rich, and warming with chocolate and coffee flavors. It’s inspired by Washington’s original recipe, and reflects his admiration of Philadelphia-style porters, especially those brewed by Robert Hare, whose original brewery stood just blocks from where ours is now.”

Random: I’m so glad this whole heat wave thing broke. It was getting to the point of being unbearable and killing my garden all at the same time.

So, the brewery said that Washington used this recipe to rally his troops, eh? Given the higher ABV, I’m hoping that he did this at night and not right before the fighting. Anyways, this one poured with a thick, one finger tan head on top of a clear, dark brown body. There was no visible carbonation due to the color of the brew. The nose was relatively pungent and had cocoa, roasted malts and some sweetness to it. The taste started with the roasted malts and then went into a syrupy sweetness. I’m guessing that it was the molasses described on the label. Some sweet chocolate followed with a little coffee, but the standouts here were the molasses and roasted malts by far. The body was on the thinner side, but was very velvety. The finish was long with sweet cocoa. I didn’t get any notion of the booze in the beer. The more I drink the brew, the more it reminds me of a milk stout. I’m guessing that was a result of the silky body. This wasn’t my favorite porter, but is definitely worth a shot.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

