Fort Collins Red Banshee

Posted: July 12, 2012 in American Amber/Red Ale, Fort Collins Brewing, Reviews

It’s almost the weekend! I seriously can’t wait! I have the house to myself all weekend, so I think I’m going to bottle my two beers that I’ve had sitting around. My beer fridge is also remarkably empty…so I’m thinking I’m going to have to restock soon. This one is from a Fort Collins mixed pack that I got while I was down the shore. Honestly, I haven’t heard a lot of great things about Fort Collins, but I figured I’d give the brews a shot. Let’s see how this one goes.

ABV: 5.3%

Style: American Amber/Red Ale

Trivia: This brew comes in at 35 IBUs.

Random: I started the couch to 5k program earlier this week. I hate running, so I’m hoping this helps.

This brew poured with a thick, two finger, tan head that dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, dark mahogany color with moderate carbonation. The color was shocking dark for the style. The nose was a lot of nutty malt and not much else. After the first sip, I’m really not thrilled. It was overwhelmingly nutty malt and a hint of sweetness. I cannot find a hop in there at all. The nutty malt was almost exactly like when I smelled the malt bag for my homebrew. As nice as that might sound, it doesn’t translate too well into drinking. The body was on the thicker side with moderate carbonation. The finish was thankfully short. Honestly, this beer is a borderline drainpour for me. There was nothing that I really enjoyed about it. Avoid.

Untappd Rating: 2.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

