Founders Devil Dancer (2012)

Posted: December 2, 2012 in American Double/Imperial IPA, Founders Brewing Company, Reviews

So, I recently reviewed Founders Devil Dancer (2011) after aging it for over a year. I wondered if there was a difference between aging it and drinking it. I saw a bottle at Spirits in Shrewsbury, so I decided to do a review on it.

IMG_1160

ABV: 12%

Style: American Double/Imperial IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “When you dance with the Devil, the Devil don’t change. You do. Massive in complexity, the huge malt character balances the insane amount of alphas used to create it. At an incredible 112 IBUs, it’s dry-hopped with ten hop varieties.”

Random: I can’t wait until Christmas. It’s my favorite holiday.

This one poured with a very small head that left a crown of white on top of the body and no lacing on the pint glass. The body was a reddish cloudy orange color with no visible carbonation. The nose was a decent amount of malt and booze with some pine. Given the strength of the booze, the nose was relatively light. The taste was shockingly balanced for something with this high of an ABV. The sip started with some sweet caramel malt and then went towards the hoppy side. I got some pine and grapefruit and not a huge amount of booze. I also got some tropical fruits as well. The body was heavier with low carbonation. The finish was long with citrus and tropical fruits. After having this, I really enjoyed the new version just as much as I’ve enjoyed the aged version. I’m thinking that aging really didn’t benefit this. I would definitely have this again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

