Sierra Nevada Brux Domesticated Wild Ale

Posted: July 7, 2013 in American Wild Ale, Reviews, Sierra Nevada Brewing Company

I’m finally getting to the point that I’m less than a month backlogged. I’m mostly backlogged due to work. My boss left and I’ve been working crazy hours in addition to handling a lot of his responsibilities. I don’t mind, but it’s taken a toll on my beer drinking and my personal life. I popped this one open on my Mom’s birthday because my Dad and I were talking about beer and he wanted to try a beer with brett…

IMG_1536

ABV: 8.3%

Style: American Wild Ale

Trivia: According to beerpulse.com, “The new RR / SN collaboration will be called BRUX (as in brettanomyces bruxellensis) will be released this summer (tent. July). It will be brewed at some point in Jan/Feb and then conditioned off-site for several months so the Brett can develop. It will be through our distribution network. About the same scale of release as Ovila /Sierra 30. This is going to be straight Brett refermentation…no bacterial strains. We had to move heaven and earth just to deal with the Brett in our facility…talk about pedio has folks here running scared! The beer is definitely tart, but definitely NOT sour. More dry lemony/spice complexity than acidic sourness. Vinnie has been doing some really interesting research into Brett flavor profiles, and this one will be a nice treat when its finished.”

Random: I have been a sweatball for the past 12 hours. I hate this weather.

This brew poured with a full two finger white head that dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a slightly cloudy light orange color. The nose was brett with some Belgian yeast and lemon. The taste was all Belgian. I got notes of apricot, Belgian yeast, lemon rind and clove. It was not as much brett as the nose, but quite nice. The body was thick with heavy carbonation. The taste was not as tart as I’ve come to expect from wild ales, but it was still really well done. The finish was long with clove and coriander. Yet another wonderful beer from two great breweries. I would definitely have this one again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

