Epic Brainless IPA Belgian-Style India Pale Ale

Posted: March 20, 2014 in Belgian IPA, Epic Brewing Co, Reviews

I got home before the other half tonight, which is relatively rare. What am I doing with my “alone time” right now? Watching a documentary that I got from Netflix yesterday. I haven’t been watching a lot of documentaries lately, instead I’ve been getting through “Third Watch” and season 4 of “Dexter,” both of which I really enjoy, much like beers from the brewery this beer came from. Let’s see if I liked it.

IMG_2204

ABV: 6.3%

Style: Belgian IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Our Brainless® IPA pays tribute to the collaborative efforts of innovative brewers. The fruity Belgian yeast and powerful American hops relentlessly tease your pallet.”

Random: The meow seems to be intently watching said documentary. It’s pretty amusing.

This brew poured with a four finger, cream-colored head that was very slow to dissipate. It left lots of lacing on my IPA glass. The body was a very cloudy yellow color with mild carbonation, which was surprising for the style. The nose was not all that Belgian-y. There was the typical hop notes of grass and grapefruit and a touch of pine resin, but no golden fruit and no spice. I was hoping that there would be more Belgian notes in the taste. Unfortunately, there weren’t much more there. I definitely got the IPA aspect with grapefruit and pine resin again. There was some Belgian yeast, but very little spice to it. I was really shocked at the lack of golden fruit as well. The body was medium thickness with very high carbonation. The finish was long with a lot of grapefruit pith. I wanted to love this beer, especially because I haven’t had a Belgian IPA in awhile. If you just billed it as an IPA, I would have thought it was pretty good, and indeed I didn’t have a problem drinking it. It just wasn’t as amazing as I would have wanted, especially because I tend to enjoy beer from this brewery. Still, it’s worth a shot if you find it.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

