BrewDog Libertine Black Ale

Posted: April 18, 2014 in American Black Ale, BrewDog Ltd, Reviews

Today managed to be one of those days that I’m stuck at work really, really late. I thought it was going to be a decently early day and keep the streak running, but I was most definitely wrong. We had a few trucks run really late with some really demanding customers. I guess if you’re spending insane amounts of money on furniture, you can do that. Anyways, I picked this brew up a week ago for no reason in particular. I’ve really been enjoying BrewDog beers and saw a picture on Facebook last night that they were filming their TV show at Dogfish Head. I will definitely be watching next season. Let’s see how this one went.

IMG_2248

ABV: 7.2%

Style: American Black Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Libertine Black Ale is a 7.2% wickedly decadent black beast of a beer that has been hammered with the epic Simcoe hop. With a drinkability that defies its colour and depth of flavour, Libertine delivers a dark hop bomb combining the west coast hop awesomeness of an IPA, the dark and indulgent malt flavours of big stout with a lightness on the palate that bellies the punch that this beer packs. Bags of flavour and loads of hops.”

Random: I wished I worked one of those jobs that gave Good Friday off.

This beer poured with a huge, three finger, tan head that was slow to dissipate. It coated the glass with lacing. The body was a dark brown color with no visible carbonation due to color. The nose presented with pine sap up front and lots of hops. There was a touch of roasted malts at the end of the sniff, but if I had to guess, this was going to be on the hoppier side as opposed to the roastier side. I was surprised when the taste was the exact opposite. It started with roasted malts and dark chocolate, then a little bit of bitterness came through with some pine. Roasted malts were definitely the standout flavor on this one. The body was thick and almost silky with moderate carbonation to go with it. It had a long finish with dark chocolate. The booze was well-hidden on this one. This style is normally hit or miss for me, but I really enjoyed this one. I would definitely have it again.

Untappd Rating: 4.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

