Fordham Route 1 Session IPA

Posted: October 12, 2014 in American IPA, Fordham Brewing Company, Reviews

I’m finally getting through some of the beers that I picked up in Delaware. Since I’ve been working so much, I haven’t been reviewing every day. Valentina picked this one out for me to try last week and I popped it open. I think I need to start getting away from IPAs because I’ve been having so many of them. Anyways, review time.

IMG_2726

ABV: 4.5%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Route 1 is a session IPA, noted for its hop forward flavor and low alcohol content. Pale amber in color and possessing a subtle malt presence, the smoothness of this ale makes it easy to lather, rinse, and repeat as needed.”

Random: I can’t stop listening to Fleetwood Mac since we went to the concert.

This beer poured with a one finger, pure white head that took awhile to dissipate and left some lacing on the pint glass. The body was a slightly cloudy amber color with moderate carbonation visible. The nose had a bit of pine along with grapefruit pith. There was some toasted malt in the background. The taste was intensely bitter. There was a lot of pine along with some earthy herbal notes. Lemon and grapefruit were in the background. I didn’t get any malt on the taste. The body was on the light side with powerful carbonation. The finish was long with lots of pine. This beer definitely packed a flavor punch, but didn’t have a huge ABV to go with it. I enjoyed this one, and although it wasn’t my favorite “session” IPA, I would have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

