Hardywood Virginia Blackberry

Posted: March 14, 2015 in Fruit/Vegetable Beer, Hardywood Park Craft Brewery, Reviews

I love blackberries, so when I saw this at the Craft Beer Outlet, I knew it was coming home with me. Let’s see how it was.

IMG_3142

ABV: 6.8%

Style: Fruit/Vegetable Beer

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “A Belgian wheat beer brewed with a touch of rye and a massive addition (over 1,000 lbs. per 40-barrel batch) of plump, ripe blackberries grown by Agriberry in Hanover County, Hardywood Virginia Blackberry offers an assertive fruit character while remaining extremely refreshing. Ruby hued with the bright aroma of fresh bramble berries, this beer’s pleasantly gentle body leads to a rather dry, rounded fruit finish, making it irresistible on a hot summer day.”

Random: The Eagles lost Foles, Maclin and McCoy. Despite our pickups, I don’t feel great about next season.

This beer poured with a one finger, white head that dissipated quickly. It didn’t leave much lacing on the glass. The body was a cloudy, warm orange color with moderate carbonation visible. The nose presented with notes of blackberry and tartness. I also thought that I got some wheat. The taste was less intensely tart than I expected with light and fruity blackberry notes. Wheat was present too with a touch of spice from what I assume is the addition of rye. The booze didn’t make an appearance with any warming. It had a moderately thick body with light carbonation. It had a quick finish with blackberry. Although the beer was a bit on the simplistic side, I enjoyed the fruitiness of it. This beer was $14.99 a bomber, which broke down to $.68 per ounce, which was on the more expensive side, but since I enjoyed the beer, to me it was worth it. To my knowledge, this isn’t distributed in Jersey yet, so you’ll have to head to Philly to grab this one.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

