Deschutes Not The Stoic

Posted: March 21, 2015 in Deschutes Brewery, Quadrupel (Quad), Reviews

I just heard at work that they’re taking elephants out of the circus because some consider it abuse. I’m not one for the circus, especially since I’m not fond of clowns, but I do remember liking the elephants. I also remember loving the Dumbo ride at Disney World as a very small child, although I wasn’t a huge fan of the movie. But, the whole idea of controlling my own car and going up and down was very cool. Anyways, brew time.

IMG_3172

ABV: 12%

Style: Quadrupel (Quad)

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Aged and sequestered in select oak casks. The result – a contemplatively brewed quad created in homage to all those who doubted the original. This unrepentant rendition is definitively Not The Stoic.”

Random: This whole conversation in the introduction started based on a driver being by the Bronx Zoo.

This brew poured with half a finger of white head that dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a dark brown with no visible carbonation. The nose was really sweet with lots of molasses and raisins and a significant booze presence. The taste had a lot of raisins, booze, molasses and Belgian yeast. It was really sweet, but didn’t hit the mark of being cloying. The body was thick with high carbonation. The finish was lengthy and sweet with booze warming at the back of my throat. I really enjoyed this one. As is typical with my Pennsylvania beer pickups, I lost the receipt on it. But, another beer that I can’t get in Jersey that I really enjoyed.

Untappd Rating: 4.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

