Prairie Standard

Posted: March 21, 2015 in Prairie Artisan Ales, Reviews, Saison/Farmhouse Ale

This weekend is Atlantic City Beer Fest and unlike last year, I’m not there. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy beer fests, but this year, with the house and everything, I just didn’t feel like taking the day off and going. I think ACBF is a well done beer fest and I always get to try a lot of different offerings, but I think I was more into them when I was a bit younger. The crowd can be overwhelming and you don’t get a lot of time to savor the beer before you’re off to wait in the next line. Maybe I’ll go next year. Anyways, onto the brew.

IMG_3179

ABV: 5.2%

Style: Saison/Farmhouse Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Prairie Standard is our everyday beer. It’s a light, crisp saison with a hoppy finish. This beer is dry hopped 1lb per bbl with Motueka hops. A lovely New Zealand hop with a spicy lime like flavor and aroma.”

Random: I may actually be caught up after this weekend and won’t feel guilty reviewing new beers since it’s taken so long to get these posted.

This beer poured with a two finger, thin white head. It was quick to dissipate and left lots of lacing on the glass. The body was a cloudy, lemon yellow color with heavy carbonation. The nose had a pronounced citrus presence with lemon and lime and oranges. There was some spice, but citrus definitely took center stage on the nose. The taste was bitter citrus with lemon, orange and lime rind. It had light spice, and then ended with some sweetness. The body was moderately thick with high carbonation. It had a long and hoppy citrus finish. For $3.89 a bottle, this broke down to $.32 per ounce, which was definitely reasonable given how flavorful this was. I would have this again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

