Jack’s Abby Hoponius Union

Posted: April 9, 2015 in American Pale Lager, Jack's Abby Brewing, Reviews

After completely finishing my Netflix queue, the other half and I are watching (in her opinion) more interesting things lately. We recently watched “Monsters University,” which I loved and “the Monuments Men” which played to my interest in World War II and history in general. I think I’m going to have to find some boring documentaries to throw on the queue soon. Anyways, I picked this one up from Half Time. Let’s see how it was.

IMG_3274

ABV: 6.7%

Style: American Pale Lager

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Hoponius Union harmoniously combines lager yeast fermentation and West Coast IPA hops. Our India style Pale Lager is like a traditional IPA but with a twist – it’s fermented cold and aged for extended periods. A blend of classic American hops creates a huge tropical fruit and citrusy hop aroma. A dry finish accentuates the pleasant bitterness and hop profile. Hoponius Union uses locally sourced ingredients.”

Random: My team is going to be absolute crap this year. I’m listening to the Twins/Tigers game and the Tigers seem like they are going to be really, really nasty this year.

This beer poured with a huge, three finger, off white head. It dissipated slowly and left lots of lacing on the pint glass. The body was a cloudy, dusky orange color with high carbonation visible. The nose was really bright with grapefruit and then tropical fruit. I specifically picked up mango. The taste was just as bright, except Mandarin oranges came through on it. It also had some grass, but was really bright and really clean. The body was on the thin side with moderate carbonation. It had a long finish with moderate bitterness and citrus. For $2.19 a bottle, this broke down to $.18 per ounce, which was a great deal for a beer that I would swear was an IPA. I would definitely have this again and I am so excited that they’re finally in Philly.

Untappd Rating: 4.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

