Evil Genius I’ll Have What She’s Having

Posted: April 11, 2015 in American Double/Imperial Stout, Evil Genius Beer Company, Reviews

This was the last beer that I had at Isaac Newton’s on opening day. I’ve only had a few beers from Evil Genius, but they’re readily available in my area. I haven’t had one of their beers in 2015 yet, but when I saw this on draft, I decided to get a glass and see how it was.

IMG_3273

ABV: 9.4%

Style: American Double/Imperial Stout

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Heavy hazelnut and chocolate aromas, give way to a smooth, decadent, and down right delicious stout. Each flavor is balanced perfectly with our hand selected specialty malts. Keep yourself warm this February with a glass of heaven.”

Random: My Phils won last night and I thought they had no shot of winning this game. 2-2 record so far, I’ll take it.

This beer poured with less than half a finger of light brown head that dissipated slowly, yet it didn’t leave any lacing on the glass. The body was a dark brown, almost black color with no visible carbonation. The nose was filled with chocolate and had some molasses sweetness with lots of hazelnuts. The taste was even better than the nose. It was like if you mixed milk chocolate icing and threw in some Nutella for good measure. It didn’t have much sweetness, but a slight bitter bite from the roasted malts. The booze was really hidden on it, making this a really dangerous beer. It had a thick and chewy body with moderate carbonation. The finish was lengthy and sweet with hazelnuts and milk chocolate. This was a really enjoyable beer that I would definitely have again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

