Ballast Point Grapefruit Sculpin IPA

Posted: April 19, 2015 in American IPA, Ballast Point Brewing Company, Reviews

So, as mentioned in my last post, I only have one day off this week. We’re still trying to figure out how we’re going to spend it. Part of me thinks that I should just work on the house since I only have 1 day off. I have the paint for the office and should get that done. Anyways, let’s see how this one was.

IMG_3302

ABV: 7%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Our award-winning IPA, with a citrus twist. Our Grapefruit Sculpin is the latest take on our signature IPA. Some may say there are few ways to improve Sculpin’s unique flavor, but the tart freshness of grapefruit perfectly complements our IPA’s citrusy hop character. Grapefruit’s a winter fruit, but this easy-drinking ale tastes like summer.”

Random: The regular version of this beer was my first sixtel on my kegerator.

This beer poured with a one finger, pure white head that dissipated slowly. It left lots of lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, dark yellow with high carbonation visible. The nose was huge with lots of grapefruit and citrusy hops. So far, so good. The taste was awesome. It had grass and citrus hops and then bursts with grapefruit flesh and freshly squeezed grapefruit juice. There was just a touch of pine at the end. It was really bright and flavorful. It had a medium thick body with high carbonation. The finish wasn’t that long, but had grapefruit flesh and citrus juice. This was $2.70 for the bottle (with the NJCB discount), which broke down to $.23 per ounce. This beer was just amazing, especially for the price. I didn’t think that I could find one that was better than the original, but I would grab this one in a second. Go find this one.

Untappd Rating: 5.0/5.0

Comments
  1. […] Random: I think this beer is trying to compete with a certain Ballast Point IPA. […]

Leave a Reply

