New Jersey Beer Company 1787 Abbey Single

Posted: April 19, 2015 in Belgian Pale Ale, New Jersey Beer Company, Reviews

During my last beer store trip, I found myself at the newly reopened Cranbury Buy-Rite. Since I used to live over there, it was my go-to store. I have high hopes that they will return to be the craft beer destination in the area. I picked up a few things there that were beers that I had kept saying I was going to try, but never got around to. This was one of them that I had while watching “The Good Wife” last night. Let’s see how it was.

IMG_3306

ABV: 4.8%

Style: Belgian Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “On December 18, 1787, New Jersey was the third state to join the burgeoning nation. We celebrate our state’s historic role with this Old World, Belgian-style Ale. Eminently approachable, and perfectly refreshing, the Abbey Single Ale is a proper session beer.”

Random: I am not liking this whole State’s Attorney storyline on “The Good Wife.” That and Kalinda will be leaving at the end of the season makes me sad.

This beer poured with less than a half of finger of white head that was slow to dissipate. It left some lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, golden-yellow color with high carbonation visible. The nose had a lot of yeast, hay and grass. There was coriander present too. The taste had a lot more spice, peach and lemon with lots of yeast. Grassy, herbal hops came through and dominated the delicate fruit notes. It had a thick body for the style with high carbonation. It had a long yeasty finish with spice and hay with hops. This beer was $2.03 for the bottle (with the NJCB discount), which broke down to $.17 per ounce. For that price, this was a really enjoyable beer that I would have again. And, it’s from Jersey!

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

