Belhaven 90/~ Wee Heavy

Posted: April 29, 2015 in Belhaven Brewery Company Ltd., Reviews, Scotch Ale/Wee Heavy

One of the joys of owning a house is that I get to take care of the lawn. I got my battery-powered lawnmower on Friday and left work at a decent time so I could mow it. Despite the fact that the grass was probably too high since I let the backyard get slightly overgrown, I think I did a good job. My grass seed should be coming any day now so I can plant it in the bare spots. Once it looks decent, I’ll post some pictures. Anyways, let’s see how this bad boy from Scotland was.

IMG_3332

ABV: 7.4%

Style: Scotch Ale/Wee Heavy

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “While 1719 may be the earliest documented evidence of the Belhaven Brewery, there may well have been beer production on the site pre-16th century as the wells and certain cellar vaults are known to date from around the time of the Reformation. Monks (noted for their brewing skills) settled in the area from the 12th century. Luckily, they had access to both fine water and top quality local barley.”

Random: I need to buy a trimmer for the areas that I can’t get to with the mower. Maybe that will be my end of quarter gift to myself.

This beer poured with less than a half a finger of off white head. It dissipated instantly with no lacing left on the glass. The body was a cloudy, dark brown with high carbonation visible. The nose was really rich and peaty with sweetness. Smoke was present too. The taste was better than the notes with more peat and smoke. There was some booze and then deep sweetness, almost like molasses. There was also some bready malt as well. It had a thick and chewy body with high carbonation. The finish was long with peat and molasses. For $2.70 a bottle (with the NJCB discount), this broke down to $.23 per ounce. This was a good beer, but was missing something that I couldn’t put my finger on. It wasn’t the best of the style that I’ve had, but was far from the worst. It’s worth a shot.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

