Great Lakes Conway’s Irish Ale

Posted: May 8, 2015 in Great Lakes Brewing Company, Irish Red Ale, Reviews

For some reason (I’m blaming end of quarter), I’ve been absolutely exhausted all this week. I haven’t been sleeping well and been having really weird dreams. I had one last night that my boss was the head of a cult and kept having video meetings with us as to the rules and regulations of the cult. I woke up and was very, very confused. I really hope that I can get some decent sleep and relax for a little bit. I also would like it to rain soon since I put some new grass seed down. Speaking of green things, that reminds me of Ireland…which reminds me of beer…like this one!

IMG_3346

ABV: 6.5%

Style: Irish Red Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Notable toasty flavor derived from lightly roasted malt.”

Random: I’m definitely drinking this one a bit late since it’s a seasonal from January.

This beer poured with a one finger, white head that dissipated slowly and left no lacing on the pint glass. The body is a clear, dark orange with light carbonation and floaties. The nose was all caramel malt with toast and biscuit. The taste was relatively boring. There wasn’t any noted hop presence, but caramel malt, toffee, toast and slight sweetness. I don’t know if this was an old bottle, but the flavor was light. The body was on the thicker side of the style with light carbonation. The finish was quick with toffee sweetness. This was $1.89 for the bottle, which broke down to $.16 per ounce. Despite the affordable price, this wasn’t a beer that I would seek out again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

