Horny Goat Archer Apple Brown Ale

Posted: May 13, 2015 in American Brown Ale, Reviews, Rex Beverage Holdings

On Sunday, the other half and I headed out to Philly before going to my sister’s for Mother’s Day. We went to the Art Star Craft Bazaar, which we also did last year. We picked up a bunch of things for the house, one of my favorites being a plush narwhal head for the wall. I can’t wait to figure out where to put it. Anyways, let’s get to the beer.

IMG_3349

ABV: 5.4%

Style: American Brown Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Archer Apple Brown Ale has all the apple cider flavor you want in a brown ale without any of the drawbacks. Two-row, chocolate and caramel malts and oats anchor a flavor profile that’ll make your taste buds quiver, as fresh-pressed Door County apple cider blended into the brew gives you the perfect apple-shot to the kisser.”

Random: I also picked up two tee shirts from my favorite booth and some things from Migration Goods. Look them up. They have awesome stuff.

This beer poured with half a finger of tan head that dissipated instantly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a dark walnut color with no visible carbonation due to the color. The nose was unique, to say the least. I picked up the expected apple and caramel notes and then the beer quickly went into roasted notes that were bordering on ashy. I had higher hopes for the taste, but was sadly disappointed. The first note I got was reminiscent of what I assume it would be to lick a lead pipe. It was insanely metallic, which took away from the other notes that I picked up of apple and caramel, and finished with light chocolate. The body was a medium thickness and it had enough carbonation for my taste. The finish was long, and unfortunately, still metallic. This was $2.49 for a 16 ounce tallboy, which broke down to $.16 per ounce. I don’t care if this beer was free, I wouldn’t have it again. What was even more odd was that the lawyer actually didn’t mind it, which is good because she picked it out.

Untappd Rating: 2.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

