Belhaven Twisted Thistle IPA

Posted: May 15, 2015 in Belhaven Brewery Company Ltd., English India Pale Ale, Reviews

I am ready for the weekend. My parents and sister are up in Brimfield…antiquing, of course. This usually means that they bring me home beer, which always makes me happy. Most times, they will stick me on the phone with someone who works there while they read off beers that they have and I tell them whether I’ve had them or not. It’s actually quite fun. So, I have that to look forward to. This was a beer that Val picked out for me at Cranbury Buy Rite. I’ve been trying to pick up more imported beers (not successfully) since I have a lot of American beers reviewed. Let’s see how this one was.

IMG_3360

ABV: 6.1%

Style: English India Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “A stunning India Pale Ale (IPA), don’t think Belhaven’s Twisted Thistle has anything jaggy, spikey, prickly or otherwise pain-inflicting in nature. Quite the opposite. Your taste buds will tingle with pleasure after a sip or two of this golden nectar. A real treat from our master brewers in Dunbar.”

Random: I like the rebranding of Belhaven’s labels. They are very hipster-esque.

This beer poured with a two and a half white head that dissipated slowly and left no lacing on the glass. It left a light crown on top of the clear, yellow body. It had high carbonation visible as well. The nose was on the herbal side of hoppy with some pine as well. The taste was equally herbal, bordering on medicinal. Pine was there with juniper notes. This was marketed on the bottle as an American-style IPA and I am not finding that at all. The body was on the thinner side with moderate carbonation. It had a quick finish with herbal notes. For $2.48 a bottle, this was $.21 per ounce. This beer was just missing something for me and I wouldn’t rush to have it again. It needed more hop character and not just herbal notes.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

