Bolero Snort Cracked Pepperhorn

Posted: May 17, 2015 in American Brown Ale, Bolero Snort Brewery, Reviews

It’s finally the weekend! I am really beat today. It was a long week, despite the fact that the volume should have been lighter. I’m not sure of the plans for this weekend yet. I’m hoping that we pick a color for the second bedroom so I can at least get that done. The other half and I are watching “Boyhood” tonight. It’s good so far, but insanely long. Anyways, this was the beer that I had last night. Let’s see how it was.

IMG_3363

ABV: 8.1%

Style: American Brown Ale

Trivia: This was brewed in honor of their second anniversary.

Random: I hate wax-sealed bottles. They are an absolute pain to open.

This beer poured with a two finger, tan head that dissipated quickly. It left lacing on the pint glass. The body was slightly hazy and dark brown in color with no visible carbonation due to how dark the beer was. The nose had roasted malts and nuttiness, typical of a brown ale. I didn’t pick up any peppercorns on the nose. The taste had a lot of pepper to it. It also was malty with nuttiness and toffee. The body was on the thick side of medium with light carbonation. It had a long, dry, peppery finish. The booze was well-integrated. This bomber was $11.99, which came to $.55 per ounce. To me, the pepper detracted from the other flavors, in a not-so-wonderful way. It’s also on the more expensive side, so although I’m glad I got to try it, I wouldn’t get it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

