Uinta Cahoots Saison

Posted: May 20, 2015 in Reviews, Saison/Farmhouse Ale, Uinta Brewing Company

This is the second collaboration beer that I’ve had from Uinta. Val and I love the owls on the bottle and that’s pretty much why it came home with us. The first bottle is proudly displayed on that bar, where I’ve put the empty of this one as well. Let’s see how it fared.

IMG_3373_2

ABV: 6%

Style: Saison/Farmhouse Ale

Trivia: According to luekensliquors.com, “Brewing in collaboration with homebrewer Tom Shivers, this saison exhibits notes of subtle spice and fruit esters balanced by delicate malt character. Cahoots boasts earthy saison yeast characteristics with refreshing citrus fruit flavors and aromas.”

Random: At some point, I really should post some pictures of the bar. It’s all beer themed and that’s where I’ve put all of my beer books. It looks really nice. That will be a project for next week.

This beer poured with a huge, four finger, pure-white head that dissipated slowly and left light lacing on my Brewer’s Art glass. The body was clear (which I didn’t expect) and light orange in color with high carbonation. The nose was citrus-y with grapefruit peel and orange and finished with coriander. The taste was very light, but what flavor I picked up was lemon. Lemon zest and lemon pulp. There was also coriander and grains of paradise as well, but again, very small amounts of flavor were imparted from both. The body was overly thin and carbonation was present and enough for the style. The bomber was $8.99 (with the NJCB discount), which was $.41 per ounce. Although I really like the bottle on this one, I won’t be having it again. It needed way more flavor.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

