Mikkeller George

Posted: May 28, 2015 in Mikkeller, Reviews, Russian Imperial Stout

In preparation for guests this weekend, the other half and I worked on taking the painting tape down in the guest bedroom. There are still a few places left to touch up, but at least I can put the bed frame and nightstands together tonight. The only thing I don’t think I’ll be able to do before Monday is mow the lawn since we’re getting thunderstorms all weekend. Now that you’ve heard about my scheduled chores for the night, let’s talk about Mikkeller George.

george

ABV: 12.12%

Style: Russian Imperial Stout

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Ever been punched in the face by a beer? Our pal George offers anyone willing to try, a thick and oily fist right to the nose.”

Random: This was brewed in Lervik, Norway.

This beer poured with less than a finger of tan head that dissipated quickly and left no lacing. What immediately struck me about the beer was the body. The base color was black, but it was obvious that there was a bunch of yeast at the bottom that created this tan cascade. I’m not sure if I should have left this in the bottle or not. Either way, I couldn’t see any carbonation due to the color. The nose had notes of heavy cocoa and roasted malts with booze. There was dark chocolate as well. The taste was incredibly oily and had burnt malts with booze. Then, I picked up very, intensely bitter dark chocolate that was slightly unpleasant. At the end, I got espresso as well. The flavors on this were not balanced at all. It had a thick, syrupy body with moderate carbonation and hot booze. The bitter roasted malts lasted forever on the tongue. I’m usually one for a big beer with big flavors, but this one missed the mark for me. It doesn’t help that a twelve-ounce bottle of this was $9.39, which was $.78 per ounce. Given all of those factors, I would pass on this one.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

