Cambridge Brewing Company The Audacity Of Hops

Posted: June 2, 2015 in Belgian IPA, Cambridge Brewing Company, Reviews

The second movie that we watched on Sunday night was “Gone Girl.” I hadn’t read the book (my other half did) and I managed to fall asleep at the end. I finished it on Monday morning. It was a very disturbing movie and could easily give someone nightmares. My biggest question was why she was allowed to leave the hospital covered in blood. That would have been cleaned at the hospital. But, I digress. This was the beer I had during that movie.

aud

ABV: 8%

Style: Belgian IPA

Trivia: This is going to be a year-round release for CBC.

Random: Apparently this beer name is a play on the Obama slogan, “the audacity of hope,” which I didn’t realize until my other half told me.

This beer poured with a huge, four finger, fluffy white head that looked like whipped egg whites. It dissipated slowly with lots of lacing left on the glass. The body was a clear, light orange color with high carbonation. The nose had a lot of citrus and grass with Belgian spice. I specifically picked up coriander. The taste was nice, although was definitely more on the citrus IPA side as opposed to Belgian. It started with grapefruit and grass and quickly went into a spice note with Belgian yeast. Citrus was fresh, but definitely pronounced. The booze was really well hidden, which worked because the body was medium thick. It had high carbonation as well. The finish was long with grass and then a biscuit note from the yeast. Again, I can’t comment on the price point because this was a gift (and who doesn’t love free beer?). I thoroughly enjoyed this beer and would have it again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

