Siren Craft Brew Lemon Cello IPA

Posted: June 2, 2015 in American IPA, Reviews, Siren Craft Brew

This was the other beer that I had during “Gone Girl.” I was really excited to pick it up from Half Time, but forgot about the fact that I don’t like Limoncello. I had it once at my sister’s and I couldn’t even stomach a sip of it. Well, here goes nothing.

lemon

ABV: 9.1%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to Shelton Brothers, “This is a truly different beer. The concept was to develop the flavor and mouthfeel and Limoncello and fuse with the carbonation and lemony hop hit of an IPA. Using pale and wheat malts, the base beer goes through a 24 hour sour process to add to the tartness of the beer. Tons of lemon zest and juice are added to the boil along with all the citrusy lemony hops available.”

Random: This is a collaboration between Hill Farmstead, Mikkeller and Siren Craft Brew.

This beer poured with a four-finger, white head that dissipated slowly and left a lot of lacing on the glass. The body was a cloudy, yellow color with light carbonation. The nose was strong with lots of herbs and lemon zest. Lemon hops were there with lemon juice as well. In my opinion, it was too strong. The taste was insanely tart with lemon. White pepper came through as well with lemon zest. It also had a medicinal quality to it, but man, did I hate this. I hate Limoncello and this beer was a bear to drink. The body was medium thick and had light carbonation. I did pick up some of the booze warming as well. The finish was really long with sour lemon. This beer was expensive at $10.49 for the bottle and broke down to $.66 per ounce. I could appreciate how different this beer was and the time and effort into crafting it, but I hated it and paying that much for a beer you hate sucks. I guess if you like Limoncello, you would probably enjoy this.

Untappd Rating: 1.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

