Two Brothers Sidekick Extra Pale Ale

Posted: June 16, 2015 in American Pale Ale, Reviews, Two Brothers Brewing Company

On Saturday, the other half and I went to my parents’ house to check on the pool and hang out there. We stayed until Sunday afternoon and I managed to get one nasty sunburn. My shoulders are all red and showering is incredibly painful. Every time I move in my chair, it hurts like crazy. Next time, I’m covering myself in as much sunscreen as I can find.

sidekick

ABV: 5.1%

Style: American Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Buddy, pal, mate, brother (or sister) from another mother, compadre…Sidekick. All of these are ways to describe someone or something that is always at your side. Sidekick extra pale ale is one of those things. This golden colored ale is loaded with juicy citrus and passion fruit hop aroma yet balanced with malty and hop character. A true companion.”

Random: I did manage to relax for almost an entire day, which as my other half can tell you, rarely ever happens.

This beer poured with a one finger, pure white head that dissipated slowly and left a lot of lacing on the glass. The body was a cloudy, straw yellow color with only moderate carbonation. The nose was filled with citrus and lemon juice. Grass came through as well. The taste was very floral, almost like potpourri. It also had an off-putting, soapy taste. Citrus was present as well and manifested as lemon juice and pulp. It was on the thicker side of the style with moderate carbonation. The finish was lengthy and incredibly floral, just like the taste. This was $2.39 for the can, which broke down to $.20 per ounce. That’s not a bad price, but I just wasn’t into this beer. There are so many better examples of the style out there.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

