Harviestoun Ola Dubh Special Reserve 16

Posted: June 19, 2015 in Harviestoun Brewing Ltd., Old Ale, Reviews

The other half and I watched “Sing It On” last night. I don’t know why I like the show so much, as it’s mostly a reality show about college singing groups, but I do. I cheated and looked at who won at the end, and none of the groups on the show win. I can’t lie, it does make me want to watch the show less. Anyways, let’s see how this import was.

ola

ABV: 8%

Style: Old Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Aged in oak casks formerly used to mature Highland Park 16 Year Old Single Malt Whisky, our thick, gloopy base beer takes on distinct whisky notes, perfectly complementing its roasty, toasty bitterness.”

Random: My back is peeling and insanely itchy. I can’t wait to get home and put lotion on it.

This beer poured with less than one finger of tan head. It dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass, but a slight crown on top of the body. The body itself was dark brown in color with no visible carbonation. The nose was different from I expected. It didn’t have as much oak as I thought, but lots of peat and roasted malts. Smoke was present as well.The taste was complex and more intense. At first, I picked up peat, then some tobacco and vanilla. As it warmed, I also got lightly toasted oak and leather. It had a touch of bitterness as the end, but was a very smooth beer. The body was thick with light carbonation. I could see sipping on this in front of a fire watching the snow come down. The finish was lengthy and sticky with vanilla and peat. The booze was hidden, which was also nice. This was not a cheap beer at $11.99 for the bottle ($1.00 per ounce). This would make a great beer to drink on a special occasion in the Winter. If you see this one, definitely grab a bottle to put away.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

