Maine Beer Company MO

Posted: June 19, 2015 in American Pale Ale, Maine Beer Company, Reviews

Everyone is going crazy for Maine beers lately. I thought I had reviewed this one, but after some research, I figured out I was wrong and needed to rectify that.

mo

ABV: 6%

Style: American Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Our first run at an American Pale Ale. Flavors and aromas of zesty citrus, passion fruit and pine present themselves throughout. A very subtle malt sweetness for balance, but this is intended to finish dry.”

Random: I love the simplicity of their labels.

This beer poured with a huge, three finger, fluffy white head that looked like whipped egg whites. It dissipated slowly and left lots of lacing on the glass. The body was a cloudy orange with moderate carbonation. The nose had fresh-cut grass and light pine. The taste had the same grassy notes with pine, but also had a generous dose of citrus in it. Specifically, I picked up grapefruit pulp. Some tropical fruit was there as well, but was in the background. There wasn’t a lot of malt to this, which was 100% fine with me. It had a thick body with light carbonation. It could have used a bit more, but I don’t think this was a fresh bottle. The finish was long with pine and grapefruit pulp. This was a good beer, but I think if I had it fresh, it would be outstanding. The one thing I really enjoyed about this beer is that it was an assertive pale ale with strong flavors. Some beers of the style tend to be bland. This was another beer gift, so I don’t have an idea on price, but free beer is always good beer! I would have this again even if I had to pay for it.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

