Pizza Boy Hop Test #1 (Defibrillator)

Posted: June 20, 2015 in Doppelbock, Pizza Boy Brewing, Reviews

The other half and I walked around Philly for a bit and then stopped for a snack. This beer was on tap, which I think was a leftover from Philly Beer Week. I don’t have any experience with this brewery, but I was excited to give it a try. From the look of the website, it’s a brewery in their restaurant which also offers lots of other craft brews. If I’m ever around Enola, PA, this is a place that I want to make a stop at.

defib

ABV: 9%

Style: Doppelbock

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Our production brewery is located in our restaurant, Al’s of Hampden in Enola, PA. With a 10,000 square foot location and over 100 beers on tap, we’re central PA’s premiere destination for craft beer.”

Random: My back is so itchy. It’s still peeling. My first priority when I get home is lotion. Lots and lots of lotion.

This beer poured with a one finger, tan head that dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a deep mahogany color with moderate carbonation. The nose was nutty with warm, dark fruit notes. Specifically, I picked up dates. The taste was filled with tobacco and leather. Raisins were present as well. The booze was well-hidden. It had a thick body with high carbonation. The finish was long and dry with dark fruit. This was a big beer to be drinking on a hot day, and I think I would have enjoyed it on a colder day. Despite that, I would have it again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

