Sixpoint Jammer

Posted: June 20, 2015 in Gose, Reviews, Sixpoint

The other half and I headed to Philly for a little bit to go to the West Elm. We ended up at the Foodery (which I love). We needed a snack and I wanted to try a few brews. This was the first one that we ordered. I’ve heard a lot about this beer, and not much of it was good. Gose is a really interesting style, so I wanted to see if it was as bad as everyone has been saying it is.

jammer

ABV: 4.2%

Style: Gose

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “…the Mad Scientists kept tweakin’ that Jammer till it rocked so hard. Bygone brewers, repping the Sixpoint star, provided the concept and our friends at Jacobsen Salt hooked us up with the key ingredient. It’s salty, it’s sour, and it’s slammin’. It’s Mad Science.”

Random: From the pictures online, the can is really pretty.

What initially struck me was that this beer was a 10 ounce pour. I’m not sure why, as the ABV is smack dab in the session range. But, let’s move on. This beer poured with less than one finger of white head that dissipated quickly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a slightly hazy, light yellow color. There was some carbonation visible in the beer. The nose had coriander and salt water and that was about it. The taste was not what I was expecting for gose and was really boring. I didn’t pick up many sour notes and there was only a dash of salt. The only other flavor that I picked up was corn. The body was very thin and has little carbonation, which didn’t help matters. This was like drinking beer seltzer. The finish was instantaneous with corn. Although I was surprised at the pour at first, at the end, I was happy there was only 10 ounces of this that I had to finish. This beer was a total disappointment that I wouldn’t have again.

Untappd Rating: 2.5/5.0

Comments
  1. […] my last Sixpoint beer. Much like this one, it was very polarizing in the craft beer community (Sixpoint Jammer) and I was not a big fan of it either. Let’s see how this beer […]

Leave a Reply

