Stillwater Arcana

Posted: June 24, 2015 in Reviews, Saison/Farmhouse Ale, Stillwater Artisanal Ales

It’s Wednesday and was a shockingly busy day for a Wednesday. Normally, it’s one of my less busy days in terms of trucks, but I have a lot of conference calls. Today, I had a lot of trucks and a lot of conference calls. I also picked my parents up from the airport last night and because of the weather yesterday, their flight was delayed and they didn’t get to Newark until almost midnight and I didn’t get home until 2:30 AM. I was dragging a lot today. Anyways, this was a beer I had over the weekend. Let’s see how it was.

IMG_3496

ABV: 6.5%

Style: Saison/Farmhouse Ale

Trivia: This is a collaboration beer with Hof Ten Dormaal.

Random: We’re watching “Sing It On” tonight. This show is hilarious. I hope they make a second season.

This beer poured with a half a finger of tan head that took forever to dissipate. It left a lot of lacing on the glass. The body was dark brown, almost black, with no visible carbonation due to the color. The nose had lots of roasted malts and biscuit from the yeast. The taste was lighter than I expected. There was roasted malts and smoke. Yeast came through and lightened the beer up a bit. The body was thick with moderate carbonation. It had a long finish with smoke and roasted malts. For $8.79 a bottle, this was on the more expensive side ($.73 per ounce). Given that, this beer didn’t do much for me. I wouldn’t rush back to have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

