Mystic Vinland Three

Posted: June 29, 2015 in Dubbel, Mystic Brewery, Reviews

Since I only had one day off this week, I didn’t get many of my chores done. We went to lunch and walked around Doylestown yesterday. We also saw “Inside Out.” I thought the movie was only alright, but I did really like the seats, which reclined completely. It was difficult to stay awake because the seats were so insanely comfortable. Anyways, this is a brew that I had last week. Let’s see how it was.

mystic

ABV: 6%

Style: Dubbel

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Vinland three yeast cultures were obtained from Bryan’s grandparent’s farm in Popple Dungeon, VT. The beer is currently in development for a targeted August 2014 release.”

Random: I watched part of a Phils game this weekend. It’s the first game that I’ve watched in months and they looked like crap.

This beer poured with a three finger, off White head that dissipated slowly and left a lot of lacing on the glass. The body was a cloudy, dark brown color. The nose presented with a lot of yeast and big notes of nuts and sweetness from caramel malt. The taste was much lighter than I expected. It had no notes of booze, but lots of biscuit and nuttiness. It had a slight sweetness from the caramel malt as well. The body was medium thick with high carbonation. It had a quick finish with the nuts permeating it. The bomber was $15.99, which broke down to $.73 per ounce. I normally adore beers from Mystic, but this one just missed the mark for me.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

