Smuttynose Smuttlabs Granite State Destroyer

Posted: July 1, 2015 in American Malt Liquor, Reviews, Smuttynose Brewing Company

I like corn, especially in the summer. The best is when you can get sweet, white corn from the local farm stand. It’s still a bit early in the season to get it, so this beer will have to do.

granite

ABV: 8%

Style: American Malt Liquor

Trivia: This is billed as an “Imperial Corn Lager.” There is absolutely no information on it on the brewery website.

Random: On house shows, they show some really ugly choices in granite in countertops.

This beer poured with a two and a half finger white head that dissipated quickly and left some lacing on the glass. It also left a crown as well. The body was a straw yellow color with moderate carbonation. The nose was filled with grain and corn and booze. It had a honey sweetness as well. The taste was also incredibly sweet and had a lot of corn and honey. I couldn’t pick up much more than that. The body was moderate thickness (although thicker than I’m used to for the style) with high carbonation. The finish was long with corn and light sweetness. This beer was a gift, so I can’t speak to how much it cost. This beer was just interesting to me. For the style, it’s a stand-out, but that’s not saying much when you’re competing with Olde English or Mad Dog. It also said on the bottle to drink this fresh, and I’m not exactly sure why. I’m glad I got to try it, but it’s still a boring beer to me that I won’t have to consume again.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

