Manayunk Brotherly Love

Posted: July 8, 2015 in Cider, Manayunk Brewery and Restaurant, Reviews

Over the holiday weekend, the other half and I decided to stay a night in Philly. Before we went to Philly, we headed over to Manayunk for lunch and ate at the Manayunk Brewing Company. I was really excited to try it since I’ve had a few of their beers that I’ve really enjoyed. The experience there was disappointing at best. I hated the food and the service was poor. I think this would be a place that I would go back to have a drink, but not eat. Anyways, this is the cider that Val ordered.

brotherly

ABV: 4.2%

Style: Cider

Trivia: According to the board in the brewery, this cider was brand new. I can’t find any other information about it.

Random: Whenever Val orders something that has “tart” in the description, I order something that I’m pretty sure she will like, so we can switch glasses, which is exactly what happened in this case.

This cider poured with half a finger of white head that dissipated quickly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, very light yellow color with high carbonation visible. The nose had tart, Granny Smith apples and a dash of yeast. The taste was very dry with the same Granny Smith apples and cracker at the end. After I few sips, I picked up Meyer lemon as well. It had a medium thick body with high carbonation. The finish was lengthy and dry with tart apples. Val hated this cider because it was too tart and too dry for her. Since I prefer a dry cider, I enjoyed this one, although it was on the simple side. I would have it again if I was in the mood for a cider.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

