Clown Shoes Garden State Rhapsody

Posted: July 18, 2015 in American Double/Imperial Stout, Clown Shoes, Reviews

I’m in the full throws of end of quarter. This is the time where sleep is at a premium for me and twelve-hour days are my short days. I have my countdown going until August 2nd. This week, I only have tomorrow off, which I guess is better than nothing. Let’s talk about happier things, like beer.

garden

ABV: 12%

Style: American Double/Imperial Stout

Trivia: This beer is only sold in New Jersey.

Random: I think it’s an interesting way for a brewery to open a new geographical market. They bring all of their beers and then make one specifically for the new state they’re offered in. I wonder if other breweries will start doing this.

This beer poured with a one finger, light brown head that was slow to dissipate and left a lot of lacing on the glass.
The body was black with no visible carbonation due to the color. The nose was spicy with rye and lots of dark chocolate. Some coffee was present as well. The taste had the same dark chocolate, but the spicy rye wasn’t as prominent, which I was looking forward to. It had some coffee and oak as well. The body was thin with light carbonation. I wanted the body to be a bit thicker. The alcohol was hot on this beer and hit the back of my throat. The finish was quick and dry with booze and dark chocolate. The bomber was $14.99, which broke down to $.68 per ounce. There was a lot of local hype around this beer and after having it, I don’t quite understand why.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

