Crooked Stave Progenitor Noir

Posted: July 18, 2015 in American Wild Ale, Crooked Stave Brewery and Taproom, Reviews

Crooked Stave puts out some awesome stuff. I love funky beers and this brewery doesn’t disappoint. What was disappointing was that I could not find any information about this beer on their website. If you’re a beer dork like me, you like to see what the brewery thinks about the beer in terms of flavor profile as well as information about ingredients and brewing. I think most breweries do a decent job of this. With craft beer getting bigger, I imagine more people will be looking for this type of information. But, when you’re Crooked Stave, I guess you can get away with almost anything.

progenitor noir

ABV: 6.8%

Style: American Wild Ale

Trivia: In 2013, Crooked Stave got four more oak foeders.

Random: I think the names on Diet Coke bottles are dumb.

This beer poured with a one finger white head that dissipated quickly and left no lacing. The body was a dark brown with no visible carbonation. The nose was unique with notes of tomato, lime and wood. Wet hay and grass were also present. The taste was quite tart with lime and lime zest. Oak and vanilla came through next with pineapple and mango. It had a touch grass with horse blanket and funk. The body was medium thickness with high carbonation. It had a long and tart finish. I picked this up for $12.99 at Half Time ($1.08 per ounce), and it wasn’t a cheap beer, but it was unique, bright and outstanding. I would highly recommend this one, even with the hefty price tag.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Comments
  1. […] One of the podcasts that I listen to recorded all of the salons from Savor 2015. They’re really interesting and makes me want to go to the event even more. So far, I’ve listened to one on wood aging and one on cooking with hops. The next one is about the “farm to bottle” movement. Tonight’s selection is from a brewery that puts out very good stuff using lots of wild yeast, so I guess that could be considered “farm to bottle.” I had the “noir” version of this in July. You can check out that review here. […]

Leave a Reply

