SingleCut Billy Half-Stack IPA

Posted: July 20, 2015 in American IPA, Reviews, SingleCut Beersmiths

I had to be at work this morning really early to get the routes done. It always annoys me when there is inexplicable traffic before the sunrises and it takes me over an hour to get to work. I don’t know if people are just tired, but it’s very annoying. It felt like a sauna when I walked outside at 4 AM. I’m lucky that I don’t spend all my time out in the un-air-conditioned warehouse. Anyways, onto something way more pleasant, like a beer from Queens (where I lived for a few years as a young child).

billy

ABV: 6%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Crank the hops to the point right before tastebuds bleed with a PNW, Aussie and NZ blend. At 88 IBUs, ‘Half-Stack’ is a relative term – As we like to say, ‘If it’s too hoppy, you’re too old!'”

Random: I wish there was nap time at work.

This beer poured with a three finger, pure white head that dissipated slowly. It left lots of lacing on my IPA glass. The body was a clear, straw yellow that had moderate carbonation. The nose had notes of pine, grass and then tropical fruit. The taste was just as complex and really nice. It had a lot of citrus, pineapple and mango along with pine resin. It had light malt at the end that was almost nutty. The body was on the medium side with generous carbonation. It had a long finish with nuttiness and light bitterness. It was $16.99 for the 16.9 ounce bottle ($1.01 per ounce), which is definitely pricey. But, I thought it was a really nice beer that I would definitely have again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

