SingleCut Keith SW4 English Pale Ale

Posted: July 21, 2015 in English Pale Ale, Reviews, SingleCut Beersmiths

I ordered this beer while we were waiting for friends to meet us for dinner. When I asked the server what type of beer this was, they said that it was a “nitro ale.” As to be expected, I gave her a quizzical look and again asked what type of beer it was. She then told me that this was a beer that was fermented on nitro instead of carbon dioxide. I explained that nitro ale isn’t a style, she gave me an equally quizzical look and went to her manager to ask. Val then told me next time to just smile and then look it up on the internet. For the record, she came back and said that it was a “nitro pale ale.” I was tempted to ask if it was English or American (since they just had it on the menu as “Keith”), but decided just to order it.

keith

ABV: 5.7%

Style: English Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Remember when beer was floral, smooth, understated, and came from a town that also brought the world silly walks, double-decker transit, and hard rock? Well, let us refresh your memory!”

Random: Although I think that mason jars are cute, I’m not a huge fan of serving beer in them. I find them annoying to drink out of.

This beer poured with a one finger, thick, white head that dissipated slowly. It left a lot of lacing on the glass. The body was a cloudy orange color with no visible carbonation. The nose was light with lemon and grass and then a little bit of malt sweetness. The taste was very light with grassy and lemon. There was some malt sweetness to it at the end of the sip. The body was very thick and creamy with no carbonation. The finish was quick with toffee and caramel malt. This beer was really bland and just missed the mark for me. I won’t be having this again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

