Leinenkugel Ginger Shandy

Posted: July 25, 2015 in Fruit/Vegetable Beer, Jacob Leinenkugel Brewing Company, Reviews

When my parents were away, they asked Val and I to watch their pool. We ended spending a weekend there when it was insanely hot. I grabbed some mix packs of beers that I knew she would like, which is why there was a “shandy sampler pack” in my possession. I wanted beers in cans, so we didn’t have to worry about leaving them by the pool. We also had a very nice snack spread and I ended up with a nasty sunburn all over my back and chest.

gingershandy

ABV: 4.2%

Style: Fruit/Vegetable Beer

Trivia: This is part of the Shandy Sampler Pack.

Random: I don’t have a problem with shandies if they’re well done, just for the record.

This poured with a one finger, white head that dissipated slowly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a hazy, dark yellow-orange with high carbonation visible despite the cloudiness. The nose was filled with artificial ginger. If it had any other odors, I couldn’t find them because the ginger was so powerful, and not in a good way. The taste was exactly like the nose. It was filled with the same artificial ginger and nothing else. It was like drinking cheap, alcoholic, artificial ginger ale. The body was on the light side with high carbonation. It had a long finish with the same ginger notes that I complained about throughout the review. This was $1.83 a bottle, which breaks down to $.15 per ounce. It wouldn’t be a bad price if it was marginally enjoyable, but I will be avoiding this one.

Untappd Rating: 2.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

