Old Forge Celestial Blonde Ale

Posted: August 1, 2015 in Belgian Pale Ale, Old Forge Brewing Company, Reviews

I’m really loving my grill. I’ve been making dinner almost every single night and we’ve been saving money too, plus getting better service and (I hope) better food. Although, given our experience almost every time we eat out, that is setting the bar pretty low. This was a beer that I put in my outside beer glass (since it’s plastic) to sample while I was cooking.

celestial

ABV: 6.5%

Style: Belgian Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “A medium-bodied, malty, sweet Belgian-style Blond ale with great complexity and a heavenly finish. Spring seasonal.”

Random: The shrimp kebabs that we made earlier this week with pineapple were really yummy.

This beer poured with a one finger, white head that dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the glass and a crown. The body was a hazy orange color with moderate carbonation. The nose was bright with a lot of orange and citrus notes. There was some wheat as well. The taste was equally pleasant. I picked up orange and tangerine primarily, with notes of wheat and grass at the end of the sip. There wasn’t any spice or real yeast characteristic to it. Honestly, until I started writing the review, I had no idea that it was a Belgian Pale and it drank a lot more like an American Blonde. The body was medium thickness with high carbonation. It had a quick finish with citrus notes. This beer was $2.25 for the 16 ounce can, which broke down to $.14 per ounce. This was an easy-drinker while I was grilling, but it wasn’t anything outstanding. I wouldn’t refuse it if it was handed to me.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

