Wyders Reposado Pear

Posted: August 1, 2015 in Cider, Reviews, Wyders Beverages Canada

Here’s another review to tide you over while I’m getting through my last day of end of quarter. I’m going to pick a really good beer to open on Saturday. This cider is one that I opened for the other half that she picked up at Half Time.

wyders

ABV: 6.9%

Style: Cider

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Reposado. The name given to tequilas aged between two and twelve months in oak barrels. The wood aging smooths out the tequila while infusing it with subtle oak notes. Traditional Wyder’s Pear cider infused with smooth subtle oak laden tequila notes. Refreshing pear cider crafted with some inspiration from south of the border.”

Random: The lack of commas on the website description of this cider is driving me absolutely insane.

This cider poured with no head, on top of a clear, light yellow body. There was moderate carbonation visible. The nose was very strong with straight tequila. After a few sniffs, I think I found some pear, but the tequila dominated everything. The taste was exactly the same. It was very strong tequila and booze and wood. Then, some fruitiness from the pear came out, but my palate was shot by the tequila. It had a medium thick body with high carbonation. The finish was unfortunately, very long with the same tequila note that started at the nose. The price on this one was $2.29 for the bottle, which comes to $.19 per ounce. No matter what the price was on this one, I just disliked the flavor and wouldn’t have it again. However, if you’re a tequila aficionado, this may be for you.

Untappd Rating: 2.5/5.0

Comments
  1. cidersays says:

    Thanks for sharing! I thought this one was pretty good, but almost more of a novelty cider, not so much one I’d want to drink all the time. Even though I’m not a huge tequila fan (I only enjoy it in margaritas, and only decent stuff, not cheap), I thought the flavor was good and not overpowering. I also love barrel aged ciders though.

Leave a Reply

