Devils Backbone Azrael

Posted: August 17, 2015 in Belgian Strong Pale Ale, Devils Backbone Brewing Company, Reviews

Working from home is a different experience for me. I get a lot done because there aren’t any distractions. But, the cat seems to think that because I’m home, my sole purpose is to give him treats on demand. This means that he purrs, meows and occasionally jumps on my desk while I’m working. For the record, I didn’t give him treats until later that night.

azrael

ABV: 7%

Style: Belgian Strong Pale Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Whether named after the angel of death of Gargamel’s cat, Azrael will be sure to get you with her blonde good looks and deceptive charm. Azrael is gold in color, medium in body, with hints of apple & pear from the unique Belgian yeast strain used. Be warned, this alluring Belgian-style strong gold ale goes down easy.”

Random: I saw the baby deer a few nights ago. They were about 10 feet or so away from me. They are cute when they are not tearing up my lawn.

This beer poured with a one finger white head that dissipated instantly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a dark yellow color with light carbonation visible. The nose had a lot of bread with light coriander and golden raisins. The taste was sweet with candi sugar, apricot, golden raisins and booze. There was also the same spice that was apparent in the nose. Banana and white grapes were there too. The body was on the thin side with light carbonation. It had a long, syrupy sweet finish with booze. The single bottle was $2.17 in DC ($.18 per ounce). It was an alright beer, but not one that I would have again and there are many better examples of the style.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

