Woodchuck Summer Cider

Posted: August 21, 2015 in Cider, Reviews, Woodchuck Cidery

When I first started trying adult beverages, I really liked sweet things. I wasn’t into beer, but I loved Woodchuck ciders. At that point, there weren’t many choices, but Woodchuck had a 4 style variety pack. I later discovered my love for beer, but I always had a soft spot for Woodchuck. This was sitting on the shelf at Half Time and Val wanted to give it a shot.

woodchuck

ABV: 5%

Style: Cider

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Summer Time is the exact right time for sipping cider. Woodchuck Summer Time delivers a crisp apple cider topped off with a touch of blueberry juice. A cider crafted to be as refreshing as a summer day is long.”

Random: I think their labels need some updating.

This cider poured with a half a finger of white head that dissipated instantly. It left no lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, light yellow with moderate carbonation visible. The nose had blueberry juice with some apple at the end. The taste was a bit more balanced between the two flavors. There was sweet, apple juice with blueberry juice. But, that was about it for the depth of flavor here. The body was on the thin side and had moderate carbonation. I wish it had a bit more. The finish was quick with a lot of apple and blueberry. This was $1.79 for the bottle ($.15 per ounce). I wasn’t a huge fan of this, although it was very drinkable. I wouldn’t rush back to have this again. The other half (who wanted this cider), didn’t really enjoy it either.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Comments
  1. cidersays says:

    I too have always had a soft spot for Woodchuck, even as my tastes have evolved towards drier local craft ciders. I think Summer Time is pretty good, but I definitely have to be in a sweet cider mood for one. I agree it isn’t very complex, but I love the blueberry flavor!

Leave a Reply

