Citizen Cider Wit’s Up

Posted: August 23, 2015 in Cider, Citizen Cider, Reviews

Last week, there was a family reunion at my parents’ house. I cooked for everyone and I’m still exhausted from it. I relaxed for a bit this weekend, but I’m still feeling it. It was really nice to see everyone and Val finally got to meet my entire family. Anyways, let’s get to this cider that I opened for Val.

witsup

ABV: 5.9%

Style: Cider

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Starts like an ale and finishes like a cider: that, my friend, is Wit’s Up. This cider is fermented with a Belgian Wit yeast and malolactic cultures. No sugar is added, no sulfites are used, and it’s made with fresh sweet cider pressed at Happy Valley Orchard in Middlebury, Vermont. Wit’s Up is clean and easy-drinking. Welcome to the future of cider.”

Random: The suggested pairings for this cider are bratwurst, brioche, roasted chicken, and root vegetables.

This cider poured with less than half a finger of white head that dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, light yellow color with high carbonation. The nose had some yeast and lemon and apples. The taste was much of the same. It had yeast and sweet apple with some coriander and Belgian yeast. It was an interesting amalgam of cider and beer. The body was on the thinner side with high carbonation. It had a quick finish with yeast, apple and light spice. This was $3.79 for the can, which broke down to $.24 per ounce. I definitely enjoyed this one and would have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Comments
  1. cidersays says:

    Interesting–thanks for sharing! I’ve seen quite a trend of beer-like ciders, whether it is just in taste or they actually add hops. I’m not a fan though (as I don’t like beer).

    • beerproof says:

      I’ve seen that trend too, especially with breweries that are adding ciders to their portfolio. I tend to be more of fan of those, but I like cider and beer, so that’s probably why.

Leave a Reply

