Terrapin Side Project #25 Liquid Lunch Peanut Butter & Jelly Porter

Posted: August 28, 2015 in American Porter, Reviews, Terrapin Beer Company

When I was a kid, I loved peanut butter sandwiches. One of my childhood friends later introduced me to peanut butter and chocolate chip sandwiches and those were my absolute favorite. They tasted like a peanut butter cup to me. I was hoping that this beer would bring me a bit of nostalgia. Let’s see if it did.

liquidlunch

ABV: 7.7%

Style: American Porter

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Cut off the crust and unwrap the flavor of this fruit-centric beer. Handcrafted using real raspberries, Liquid Lunch Peanut Butter & Jelly Porter combines all the elements of a familiar lunchtime snack.”

Random: I’m having a craving for a peanut butter sandwich.

This beer poured with a two finger, light brown head. It left some lacing on the glass. The body was a dark brown color with light carbonation visible. The nose was very fragrant with lots of grape jam and some peanut butter. The taste was filled with very tart, grape jam. It was almost to the point of vinegar. There was a touch of peanut butter as well, but the jam notes dominated everything. There was no balance to this beer, but at least the booze was hidden. I didn’t get a lot of roasted malts from the porter part either, which would have helped with the balance. This bomber was $8.99, which broke down to $.41 per ounce. I totally understand why Terrapin would put this beer about. They want to push the boundaries of beer and last winter, peanut butter porters were very popular. But, I just don’t enjoy this beer. I’m glad I got to try it, because it is quite unique, but I wouldn’t have this again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

