J.K.’s Farmhouse Summer Hard Cider

Posted: August 29, 2015 in Almar Orchards, Cider, Reviews

This is post 2,000. It took a little over five years, but we got to this milestone. I’m not sure how far I am from review 2,000, but we have a little bit. I used to rank my beers of the month and do other random posts early on in the blog, but I later stopped that because I wanted to focus more on getting reviews out almost daily and there are many other, better organized, comprehensive beer websites providing other beer commentary. So, this cider is one that Val picked out and let me have a taste of. Hopefully, it’s a good one.

scrumpy

ABV: 4.5%

Style: Cider

Trivia: There is absolutely no information about this cider on the websites. I guess it’s unloved.

Random: I’m really excited to see the cider scene bursting and glad that Val likes them so I have an excuse to give them a shot.

This cider poured with less than half a finger of white head that dissipated almost instantly. It didn’t leave any lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, golden-yellow color with moderate carbonation. The nose had sweet apples, green raisins and Sprite. The taste was light, but nice. It had lots of apples and sweetness to it along with the same raisin notes and Sprite. Honey came through as well at the end of the sip. The body was light with high carbonation. It had a lengthy finish with apple sweetness. This reminded me of the sparkling cider that I used to drink as a kid, which isn’t a knock on this at all. It went down very easily and make for a great summer cider, which is what I believe they set out to do.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Comments
  1. cidersays says:

    Yay for cider! JK Scrumpy is a solid choice for folks who like a sweeter craft cider. I’ve only had their Northern Neighbor and Orchard Gate Gold though, as this summer variety and their Winterruption winter variety didn’t sound as appealing with the added flavors. Of those two I liked Northern Neighbor more. From your photo it looks like the Summer cider is actually filtered…the two I had from them were more of the unfiltered true farmhouse style (like sweet unfermented cider except fermented).

Leave a Reply

