Allagash Four

Posted: September 23, 2015 in Allagash Brewing Company, Quadrupel (Quad), Reviews

The next place we found ourselves at was Urban Farm Fermentory. Before I start, please know that I respect that everyone has different tastes and I hate to completely pan a place. So, if you like them, good for you and keep drinking their stuff. But, I couldn’t stand it. We walked in and it was a huge space that was being used for a book reading. It also had no AC. Val insisted on getting two samplers (they were 2 ounce samples) so we could have all of the ciders and meads they had. All eight of them. I started with the first one which was eh. The second one was eh as well. When I got to the sumac cider, I was shocked at how much I disliked it. At some point, I got to the seaweed cider. That was awful. It was like drinking dirty ocean water. At this point, I tried to finish the samplers as quickly as possible (and I was dripping sweat). We had heard great things about the place and I almost bought one of their ciders to bring home (I’m glad I didn’t). They are very popular, so I’m guessing it’s just a personal preference thing.

four

ABV: 10%

Style: Quadrupel (Quad)

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “We brew this beer with four malts, four sugars, four hop varieties and we ferment it four times, using four different yeast strains. The complexity of the brewing process is matched by the complexity of this unique beer. Flavors of raisin, candied fruit and plum express themselves throughout.”

Random: The sweetfern cider was also pretty odd.

The beer had less than one finger of cream-colored head. It dissipated slowly and left some lacing on the glass. The body was hazy orange-colored with high carbonation visible despite the cloudiness. The nose was very fragrant with notes of raisins, dates and plums. Yeast came through too. The taste managed to be even bigger than the nose. There was a lot of fruit, specifically dates and plums. Yeast and Belgian spice were there with some booze warming, but not 10 percent worth. It had a thick and chewy body with moderate carbonation. The finish was long and yeasty finish with dark fruit. This beer was really nice and one that I would have again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

