Round Guys Cyrano

Posted: October 5, 2015 in Reviews, Round Guys Brewing Company, Saison/Farmhouse Ale

I calculated that at this point, I have over 90 beers in the cellar to review. At this rate, I won’t be buying beer for a very long time, and I am totally fine with that. This is one that I picked up awhile ago in Philly. It’s on my shortlist of breweries that I have to make my way out to. Let’s see how this beer is.

cyrano

ABV: 7.1%

Style: Saison/Farmhouse Ale

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “Golden in complexion, layered in taste. Cyrano Saison Ale interweaves delicate flavors of fresh mangoes and tart sour cherries, with sprinklings of honey and the grapefruity characteristics of a fresh Citra hops. With a body on the thinner end, the subtle yeast character binds the open gaps. Delicate and delightful, Cyrano remains a pub favorite clamored for year-round.”

Random: This is a seasonal offering from them, on the shelves from March through July.

This beer poured with a one finger, white head that dissipated quickly. It left very little lacing on the glass. The body was a warm orange color with moderate carbonation. The nose was incredibly fragrant with lots of ripe mango, yeast and lemon zest. The taste was really bright from the addition of the mango and I also picked up the sour cherries. Yeast came through as well with a touch of coriander spice. At the end of the sip, I picked up some sweetness, which I assume is from the honey. It also had a generous amount of citrus for the style, specifically lemon zest and grapefruit pith. The booze wasn’t perceptible on this beer. The body was on the lighter side with moderate carbonation. It had finished quickly with yeast and tropical fruit. This was $2.25 for a can, which came to $.19 per ounce. I didn’t think I was going to enjoy this beer as much as I did, but it really hit the spot and the fruit really added something to the beer. I would definitely have this again.

Untappd Rating: 4.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

