B. Nektar Cherry Chipotle Mead

Posted: October 9, 2015 in B. Nektar Meadery, Mead, Reviews

As much as I love B. Nektar stuff, I really haven’t tried their straight meads. I think I’ve sampled them a few times at different beer festivals, but I’ve never bought a full bottle of anything. I saw this sitting on the shelf at Bier Cellar in Portland and although we get distribution from them in Jersey, I didn’t want to risk missing out on this one.

bnektar

ABV: 14%

Style: Mead

Trivia: According to craftshack.com, “the sweet matches the heat in this brilliant wine with a kick. We started with Michigan wildflower honey and a ton of Michigan cherry juice. Once fermented, we added a lion’s share of red chipotle peppers to give it a smokey character and medium spice level. A fantastic wine for dessert. Try pairing this with rich chocolate cake.”

Random: After this one, I think I’m going to have to search out more of their meads.

This mead poured a deep, cherry red color. It was clear, but incredibly dark. The nose was filled with cherries, smoke and honey sweetness. The taste started with slightly tart cherries and sweet honey. It then went into this powerful note of smoke and hot pepper. It had a lot of heat to it, which warmed the back of the throat. The body was thick and syrupy. The finish was lengthy and had a lot of pepper and heat. This was $12.99 for the 12-ounce bottle, which came to $1.08 per ounce. Although I’m not well versed on mead prices, this seemed a little pricey, but either way, I loved this mead. If you’re not into hot peppers, I don’t think would be in your wheelhouse. But, if you do, definitely give it a try.

Untappd Rating: 4.5/5.0

Comments
  1. cidersays says:

    This sounds great! That is actually an average to below average priced mead for that ABV in my area at least. I’ve been wanting to try B Nektar, but they aren’t in WA yet. Thankfully we get a number of other varieties.

  2. Thanks for the review! Cheers and B. Well!

Leave a Reply

