Rivertowne Jah Mon

Posted: October 16, 2015 in American IPA, Reviews, Rivertowne Pourhouse

One of the interesting things for me personally about keeping this blog is to think about how I’ve changed since I started it. One of the things that I’ve thought about is what types of beer that I purchase now. I’m not embarrassed to admit that I used to try to find every single rare beer I could like it was some sort of pirate’s booty. Now, I pick up beers I haven’t had before regardless of hype because I want to try as many as possible. Plus, trying to find the latest super-hyped beer is time-consuming, normally expensive (I’ve heard lots of stories about stores gouging prices for popular beers) and exhausting. Plus, with more people getting into the hobby, demand is higher than ever. Now that I’ve gone off on a tangent, here’s today’s beer.

rivertowne

ABV: 5%

Style: American IPA

Trivia: According to the brewery website, “At Rivertowne Brewing our mission is to brew quality, craft beer that embodies our commitment to using the freshest ingredients, state of the art brewing processes and sustainable packaging. This enables us to focus on what matters most – preserving the integrity of the product – in every way possible. with that being said, we are dedicated to delivering to you the most enjoyable craft beer experience.”

Random: I wonder what costume we’re going to put the meows in for Halloween.

This beer poured with a three finger, pure white head that dissipated slowly and left lots of lacing on the glass. The body was a clear, straw yellow with a lot of carbonation visible. The nose was quite dank with a lot of pine to it. There wasn’t much else. The taste was really light and had some grass and after a few sips, dank pine came through as well. The body was thin with high carbonation. It had a quick finish with grass. This was $1.67 per can, which came to $.14 per ounce. This was a really simple IPA that I don’t feel the need to revisit, no matter what the price.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

