Half Full Peach Wheat

Posted: November 18, 2015 in Fruit/Vegetable Beer, Half Full Brewery, Reviews

Tonight’s beer comes to me via Connecticut. I’m always surprised at how few breweries are in the state. It reminds me of New Jersey before the laws were changed. I’ve had two other beers from them and neither were impressive. I think at a certain point, the craft beer bubble is going to burst and we’re going to see some these middle of the road breweries closing. With that being said, I hope that the selections from these guys continue to improve and maybe I’ll get to see the brewery.

peachwheat

ABV: 5.5%

Style: Fruit/Vegetable Beer

Trivia: This is a summer seasonal for Half Full.

Random: I find peach beers to be so hit or miss. It seems to be one of the harder fruits to work with and execute well.

This beer poured with a two finger, white head that dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the glass. The body was a cloudy yellow color with light carbonation visible. The nose had peach notes as well as mango with honeydew. There was some wheat as well. The taste had peach extract with mango. It didn’t have much wheat, but the artificial peach wasn’t great and overwhelmed the palate. It had a thin body with light carbonation and needed more. The finish was quick with wheat and peach extract. This was $2.39 for the can ($.20 per ounce). This was another beer from Half Full that just didn’t do it for me. I love peach beers, but it just didn’t work. It tasted like fake peaches. For that reason, I wouldn’t have it again.

Untappd Rating: 3.0/5.0

Leave a Reply

