Spellbound Coffee Cacao Porter

Posted: November 23, 2015 in American Porter, Reviews, Spellbound Brewing

This was the last beer that we had at the event. We didn’t stay there for a long time, but it was still really crowded around 5 PM, when I had this beer. The bar underneath where I put it was covered in water. I didn’t realize this when I stuck my arm in it and ended up with a wet fleece. This is the first time I’ve seen this beer from them and given the rainy weather out, I was in the mood for a porter.

spellboundcoffee

ABV: 6.9%

Style: American Porter

Trivia: This is a different take on their normal porter.

Random: I could go for a cup of coffee right.

This brew poured with a half a finger of tan head. It dissipated quickly and left no lacing on the plastic cup (I’m not sure if that’s because it was in a plastic cup or because it just didn’t leave lacing). The body was black with no visible carbonation. The nose was intense with strong, black coffee, almost like an espresso. It also had dark, baker’s chocolate and some roasted malts. The taste was not quite as good as the nose. It had dark, roasted malts up front and transitioned into black coffee, but less intense coffee than the nose. I would say it was like a black cup of convenience store coffee. The dark chocolate was there as well, but it hit at the end of sip. It had a medium thick body with more than enough carbonation. The finish was lengthy with the same coffee note. This beer was good and I didn’t have a problem drinking it, I just wish it tasted like I thought it would based on the nose.

Untappd Rating: 3.5/5.0

Leave a Reply

